From Ian Gray –

THE 18 months of inactivity for Mackie 1st XV came to an end on Saturday afternoon when the team took the short trip across to Banchory for a pre-season friendly against Deeside.

The game was played in three thirds and it took Mackie 8 minutes to score their first try when a great pick up and touch down from Robbie Crighton and excellent conversion from captain Mikey Kelly gave the boys in red an encouraging 7 – 0 lead.

Mackie were on the front foot for the rest of the first third, but failed to add to their total.
The second third saw a further 2 tries for the Stoney team, with new scrum-half Finlay Jacobs going over for an unconverted try followed by Jamie Berriesford crossing the whitewash with Mikey Kelly adding the extras. This brought the score at the end of the 2nd third to:

Deeside 0 – 19 Mackie

The final segment saw Mackie cementing their superiority with 2 further tries, the first when good hands by Cameron Gray fed joint vice-captain Iwan Kelly who scored the first of hopefully many tries this season. The kick was unsuccessful which brought the score up to 0 – 24.

With the game drawing to a close, Mackie kept their foot on the pedal as winger Lyle Venters scampered over for his usual try which Mikey Mair did well to convert.
This made the final score:

Deeside 0 – 31 Mackie

All in all a very encouraging first run-out for Mackie, with a strong performance from the pack, although they seemed to get the refereeā€™s back up with some of their antics at the breakdown. The backs ran strongly and defended splendidly, although I would have liked to see the speedy wingers getting more of the ball in hand !!!!

The new half-back partnership worked well and keeping a clean sheet bodes well for the new season.

Squad :- 1. Gareth Walker 2. Finlay Stewart 3. James Sadio 4. Matthew Foster 5. Jamie Berriesford 6. Greg Hartley 7. Chris Ballantine 8. Iwan Kelly 9. Finlay Jacobs 10. David Smith 11. Lyle Venters 12. Mikey Kelly (capt.) 13. Mikey Mair 14. Ross Gray 15. Robbie Crichton 16. Zane Waters 17. Dean Gerrard 18. Fraser McCaully 19. Cameron Gray 20. Cameron Randalls