Stonehaven Golf Club update

It’s that time of year when inclement weather bursts the bubble of many a weekend sporting plan. Winter time is tolerable if your bag is indoor bowls or pub darts but it doesn’t pay to be a golfer when hurricane strength winds are alternating with snow showers to ruin your fun. Sadly then, Stonehaven Golf Club was closed for the majority of the weekend and pretty quiet when it was open given only a lunatic would play golf in such conditions.

The midweek golfers enjoyed better fortune, the Ladies Sweep and Men’s Senior Stableford events taking place in cold but relatively dry surroundings. The Ladies competition was won by Fiona Armstrong who nudged it around a foreshortened twelve hole course in 27 points. Yvonne Scott came a close second and Fiona Sim third despite a champagne birdie, birdie finish.

The Men’s Senior 14 Hole Sweep saw some excellent scoring, Neil MacArthur leading the way with 36 points in Divsion 1. His name has been occupying the higher echelons of leaderboards for some weeks now and he collected a trophy or two at the recent annual prize giving. He’s a marked man. Robert Hemphill won the second division and Ben Jufferman the third, a total of 54 seniors competing for the spoils.

The Seniors section is not only well populated but pretty successful these days too. Last month, after a fourteen year break they managed to win the Alliance Trophy, an inter-club competition between clubs across the region. The photo attached shows Alastair Duncan (left) and Steve McGhie (right) accepting the trophy from Forfar’s senior convenor, Doug McFarlane. It’s no mean feat to secure this trophy and our heartiest congratulations are extended to them. The last time they won it was 2007 and represented a third successive victory, here’s hoping that trend is to be repeated. 


Ladies 12 Hole Sweep

  1. Fiona Armstrong 27 pts
  2. Yvonne Scott 26 pts
  3. Fiona Sim 25 pts

Men’s Senior 14 Hole Sweep

Div 1

  1. Neil MacArthur 35 pts
  2. Gary Brown 33 pts
  3. Steve McGhie 32 pts

Div 2

  1. Robert Hemphill 37 pts
  2. Brian Andrew 36 pts
  3. John Currie 33 pts

Div 3

  1. Ben Juffermans 33 pts
  2. George Deans 33 pts
  3. William Shepherd 32 pts