Wendy Keeps the Chair

By Jane Cruickshank / June 14, 2022

THE first task of our new councillors has been concluded – Cllr Wendy Agnew is re-elected as chair of the Kincardine and Mearns Area Committee.

Party allegiances seemed to play their part. Cllr Agnew, who was nominated by fellow Conservative and Unionist member Cllr Alan Turner, gained the votes of all her party colleagues along with Liberal Democrat Cllr Sarah Dickinson – six votes

Also in the running was the Independent Cllr Alison Evison, nominated by Cllr Dawn Black, SNP, won the backing of all four SNP colleagues – five votes. Mrs Agnew was duly elected.

Lib Dem Cllr Mel Sullivan abstained.

And Cllr Dickinson was then nominated by Mr Carr as vice-chair – seconded by Cllr Alan Turner – and took the post unopposed.