New Chair for Committee

By Jane Cruickshank / December 12, 2023

CLLR Sarah Dickinson was elected as chair of the Kincardine and Mearns Area Committee at their meeting this morning, after a close-run vote appearing to follow party political lines.

Cllr Dawn Black, who was also nominated for the post, gained the support of all her SNP colleagues along with that of Independent Mearns Councillor Alison Evison – but the combined block of both Conservative and Liberal Democrat councillors outnumbered them by one vote.

Mrs Dickinson has represented the Stonehaven and Lower Deeside ward for seven years and served as vice chair since 2022. She is now succeeded in that role by Conservative Councillor George Carr who represents the Mearns ward.